15 1025Jonathan Hunter, MD
Dr. Hunter graduated from LSU Medical School – New Orleans in 2000. After completion of his family practice residency at LSUHSC Family Practice Residency in Alexandria, LA, Dr. Hunter became a family physician at The Brian Clinic. Dr. Hunter has served his country as a Major in the Louisiana Army National Guard, where he has been awarded numerous prestigious awards. He currently serves at the medical director for Crossroads Regional Hospital, Thompson Home Health and Oasis Hospice. He is a Utilization Physician Advisor and Employee Health Physician for Rapides Regional Medical Center as well as a Clinical Assistant Professor of Family Medicine for LSU Health Sciences Center all while serving as Deputy Coroner for Rapides Parish.   Dr. Hunter is a fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians and currently serves on the LAFP Foundation Board of Directors. Dr. Hunter is married and has two beautiful children: Grayson and Avery.

ForetChristopher Foret, MD
Dr. Christopher Foret was born and raised in Franklinton where he attended Bowling Green School. He understood family medicine from his family, as the son of a rural family physician.  Dr. Foret graduated from Louisiana State University School of Medicine New Orleans in 1994 and has been in practice for 24 years. He completed a residency at Palmetto Richland Memorial Hospital in Columbia, S.C.     He is board certified in Family Medicine and is a member of the AAFP, AMA, Washington Parish Medical Society.  Dr. Foret is serving as an associate physician at Family Medical Clinic of St. Tammany Parish Hospital. He is on active staff at Riverside Medical Center and serves on consultant staff at St. Tammany Parish Hospital.
Dr. Gravois
Wayne Gravois, MD
A Louisiana native, Dr. Gravois attended LSU School of Medicine in New Orleans. He completed his Family Medicine Residency at Earl K. Long Hospital in Baton Rouge. He practiced for 28 years at Zachary Family Practice in Zachary, Louisiana before joining the residency program in 2012. Dr. Gravois served as president of the Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians (LAFP) in 2000 and continues to serve on the LAFP Foundation and legislative committees. He has been very active in anti-tobacco campaigns and education. In 2009, the LSU Health Sciences Center voted him AOA Preceptor of the year. Dr. Gravois is married and has one daughter and son-in-law.
Bryan Picou
Bryan Picou, MD
Bryan Picou, MD, is Family Physician who has been practicing in Natchitoches since 1988 as owner of the Family Medical Clinic of Natchitoches. Dr. Picou attended medical school at Louisiana State University in New Orleans, LA, and completed his residency at E.A. Conway Hospital in Monroe, LA, where he served as Chief Resident in from 1987-1988. He presently serves as a Preceptor for LSU Medical School New Orleans, Tulane Medical School and LSUHSC-Shreveport. He accepts students at all levels with in these schools. Dr. Picou has been a member of the American Academy of Family Physicians since 1985 and received the AAFP Degree of Fellow in 1996. Dr. Picou has served on the Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians' Operations Committee as well as was a founding member of the LaFamPac. In 2006, Dr. Picou was elected as LAFP President and in 2007, served as LAFP Foundation President. Dr. Picou is presently an Alternate Delegate to the AAFP Congress.
Jim Taylor MDJames Taylor, Jr., MD
Immediate Past President 
Dr. Taylor is a Family Physician who has practiced in Livingston Parish for the last 11 years. Formerly employed by a hospital system, he is now establishing an independent practice focused on the patient-centered principles of Family Medicine. A native of New Orleans, he graduated from LSU School of Medicine in New Orleans in 2001, and completed his residency in Family Medicine in 2004. He has 12 years of experience in rural emergency medicine, and is currently the Emergency Services Director at St Helena Parish Hospital in Greensburg, LA. Dr. Taylor also serves as deputy coroner for St Helena Parish. Dr. Taylor passed his first Board examination in 2004, and passed his recertification exam in 2014. Dr Taylor has spent the last several years in governmental affairs, advocating persistently for the rights of patients and their family physicians as Chairman of Legislative Affairs for the Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians (LAFP). Dr. Taylor continues to work very hard to advocate on behalf of the LAFP and its membership. He has spent many hours many days on the phone, writing emails as well as meeting face to face with legislative leaders in our state. Dr Taylor has been listed among the "Top Doctors in Louisiana" by Louisiana Life Magazine for the last 5 years. Dr Taylor lives in Pride, LA, with his wife Joette, and daughter Jolan, as well as 5 cats and one very affectionate Catahoula leopard dog. He enjoys spending time with family, friends, and patients. He also enjoys politics, music, announcing the occasional horse show, and LSU Sports, and has a long (40-year) bittersweet relationship with his beloved New Orleans Saints.



Other Board Members:

 LAFP Member   Tahir Qayyum, MD
 LAFP Member    Russell Roberts, MD
 LAFP Member    Vincent Shaw, MD
 Lay Member    Barry Dunn
 Lay Member    Kim Gassie
 Lay Member    Ramsey Leblanc
 Lay Member    Greg Abel

Best Jobs Best Exposure Newsletter Sidebar Ad

Member Login