

DATE: July 15, 2023

TO: **Constituent Chapter Presidents**

> Constituent Chapter Executives cc: AAFP Board of Directors

> > AAFP Commission Staff Executives AAFP Delegation to the AMA

FROM: Tochi Iroku-Malize, MD, FAAFP, Chair, Subcommittee on Screening

SUBJECT: **Request for Nominations**

AAFP Commissions

AAFP Delegation to the AMA

American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) Board of Directors

Deadline for receipt of nominations: October 15, 2023

At the December 2023 meeting, the Board of Directors will fill 32 commission vacancies including two Chapter staff positions on eight AAFP commissions, 10 AMA Delegation positions created by expiring terms of members, and 5 nominees to be submitted for consideration of appointment to the ABFM for their Board of Directors.

Timeline for Appointment Process

- October 15, 2023 deadline for submission of commission nominations.
- November 30, 2023 selection of commission members
- December 5, 2023 appointment and non-appointment letters emailed to members and chapters (decisions are embargoed until this date)
- December 15, 2023 newly appointed members' terms begin

Nomination Process

Online application forms are available for the commissions, AAFP AMA Delegation and ABFM Director nomination process for use by members. (Note: Members interested in applying must contact their chapter prior to submitting an application.)

There are three different links—Commission Nomination Form, ABFM Director Form, and AAFP AMA Delegation Form (all available beginning July 15, 2023)-- available from this AAFP web page to be used to access the nomination system. To apply for any position, please click on the appropriate link to complete the online application. Detailed instructions are available to assist members in completing the online nomination form.

Once in the nomination system (we strongly recommend Chrome as the web browser for accessing and submitting information), the following information is required for successfully

STRONG MEDICINE FOR AMERICA

President Sterling Ransone, MD Deltaville, VA

Speaker Russell Kohl, MD Stilwell, KS

President-elect Tochi Iroku-Malize, MD Ada Stewart, MD Islip, NY

Vice Speaker Daron Gersch, MD Avon, MN

Board Chair Columbia, SC

> R. Shawn Martin Leawood, KS

Directors Andrew Carroll MD Chandler AZ Steven Furr, MD, Jackson, AL Teresa Lovins, MD, Columbus, IN Executive Vice President Jennifer Brull, MD, Plainville, KS Todd Shaffer, MD. Lee's Summit, MO

Gail Guerrero-Tucker, MD, Thatcher, AZ Sarah Nosal, MD, New York, NY Karen Smith, MD, Raeford, NC Samuel Mathis, MD (New Physician Member), Galveston, TX Mary Campagnolo, MD, Bordentown, NJ Amanda Stisher, MD (Resident Member), Owens Cross Roads, AL Amy Hoffman (Student Member), State College, PA

submitting an application for a position on a commission, the ABFM director, or the AAFP AMA delegation:

- 1. Completed online application form (Note: if you have trouble submitting, check that you are using Chrome as your web browser, "Save" your application as you proceed, and keep your answers to open-ended questions complete but shorter as there are sometimes challenges with getting lengthy answers to submit.)
- 2. Photo uploaded into the application form system
- 3. Completed conflict of interest/disclosure form -- The online nomination form will prompt members to complete the conflict of interest form.
- 4. Completed Chapter Feedback online form -- When members have submitted the nomination application, the corresponding chapter of the nominee will automatically be notified by email to complete the Chapter Feedback form. (Please let your members know they must contact the chapter prior to submitting an application.)

All nominations and Chapter Feedback forms must be received no later than October 15, 2023.

Information can be found on the AAFP website about these leadership opportunities at the following links:

AAFP Commission Information

AAFP AMA Delegation Information

ABFM Director Information

Please direct questions to <u>leadershipnominations@aafp.org</u>.

Sincerely,

Tochi-Iroku-Malize, MD, MPH, MBA, FAAFP

/je

Note: The chair of the Commission on Continuing Professional Development (COCPD) and the COCPD Executive Committee (specifically, the chair and 4th year commission members) can have no relevant conflicts per the AAFP's CME COI policy during their time of tenure.