

## Media Release

**For Immediate Release** July 21, 2014

For more information, please contact Ragan LeBlanc, Executive Director 225.923.3313 or <u>rleblanc@lafp.org</u>

## The LAFP holds its 67<sup>th</sup> Annual Assembly and Installs its 2014-2015 Officers

*Baton Rouge, LA.* –The Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians (LAFP) held its 67th Annual Assembly and Exhibition on July 3rd-6th in Destin, FL. Approximately 50 family physicians from Louisiana and various states participated in this continuing medical education conference.

Many renowned speakers presented up-to-the-minute information on a broad range of health topics. Subjects covered in this four-day session are very important to family physicians committed to providing optimum health care for their patients. Physicians earned up to 16 hours of continuing medical education at this year's conference, making this an important medical education meeting for family physicians.

During the four day conference, the 2014-2015 officers were installed by the American Academy of Family Physicians President, Dr. Reid Blackwelder, from Tennessee.

The LAFP is proud to have elected the following members:

President: President-Elect: Vice President: Secretary:	Melvin Bourgeois, MD, Morgan City, LA Brian Elkins, MD, Alexandria, LA James Taylor, MD, Zachary, LA Chris Foret, MD, Franklinton, LA
Treasurer:	Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Immediate Past-President:	Michael Harper, MD, Shreveport, LA
Speaker:	Derek Anderson, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
Vice-Speaker/GA:	Daniel Jens, MD, Mandeville, LA
AAFP Delegate:	Russell Roberts, MD, Shreveport, LA
AAFP Delegate:	Marguerite Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate:	James Campbell, MD, Kenner, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate:	Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Resident Representative:	Keisha Harvey, MD, Bogalusa, LA
Resident Alternate:	Francis Tran, MD, Alexandria, LA
Student Representative:	Kelly Reed, Shreveport, LA
Student Alternate:	Amanda Olivier, New Orleans, LA
District1 Director District 1 Alternate District 2 Director District 2 Alternate	Mary Coleman, MD, New Orleans, LA William Woessner, MD, New Orleans, LA Daniel Jens, MD, Mandeville, LA Luis Arencibia, MD, Mandeville, LA

District 3A Director Jack Heidenreich, MD, Raceland, LA District 3A Alternate **Position Vacant** District 3B Director Indira Gautam, MD, Lafayette, LA **District 3B Alternate** Zeb Stearns, MD, **District 4 Director** Ricky Jones, MD, Shreveport, LA District 4 Alternate Gregory Bell, MD, Coushatta, LA District 5 Director Tahir Quayyum, MD, Bastrop, LA District 5 Alternate Tobe Momah, MD, West Monroe, LA Phillip Ehlers, MD, Baton Rouge, LA District 6A Director District 6A Alternate Carol Smothers-Swift, MD, New Roads, LA Richard Bridges, MD, Amite, LA **District 6B Director District 6B Alternate** Kevin Plaisance, MD, Covington, LA **District 7 Director** Jason Fuqua, MD, Sulphur, LA District 7 Alternate Jody George, MD, Lake Charles, LA Jonathan Hunter, MD, Alexandria, LA District 8 Director District 8 Alternate Matthew Erickson, MD Director at Large Admir Seferovic, MD, Innis, LA Alt. Director at Large Esther Holloway, MD, Coushatta, LA

## ###

## About the Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians

Established in 1947, the Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians (LAFP) is one of the state's largest primary care organizations, with more than 1,500 member physicians, residents and medical students throughout the State of Louisiana. The mission of the LAFP is to promote and support Louisiana's family physicians in providing excellent health care and to provide a unified voice for family medicine. For more information, visit the LAFP website at www.lafp.org.