General Assembly logo72nd General Assembly – August 2, 2019 - New Orleans, LA
Report by: Derek Anderson, MD, Speaker, LAFP General Assembly
Lisa Casey, MD, Vice-Speaker, LAFP General Assembly  
The 72nd annual General Assembly convened on August 2nd in New Orleans, LA at the Roosevelt Hotel. Speaker Derek Anderson and Vice Speaker Lisa Casey presided as LAFP members and guests discussed issues and elected officers for the upcoming year.

The meeting provided members with addresses from Jeremy Wigginton, MD, FAAFP, CPHQ, Medical Director for Blue Cross Blue Shield of LA, Nadine Robin, Southeast Executive Director for Aledade and Michael L. Munger, MD, FAAFP, AAFP Board Chair. Dr. Munger brought us greetings and information from the national Academy and also shared the work of the AAFP over the past year.
During the meeting, after the annual reading of the necrology report honoring our members who have left us in the past year, recognized the past presidents in attendance, recognized members receiving anniversary awards and approved bylaws changes that were submitted. Two resolutions were submitted late to the Assembly titled:
  • Resolution 1: Health Care Coverage Should Equate to Health Care Access
  • Resolution 2: Oppose Criminalization of Physicians Providing Abortion Care

Because these two resolutions were late, it required a two-thirds vote of the members in attendance for them to be heard. A vote was taken on each resolution and voted not to be heard and debated during the meeting.

Your 2019-2020 LAFP Board of Directors were elected and are as follows:

President: M. Tahir Qayyum, MD, Bastrop, LA
President-Elect: Kenneth Brown, MD, Alexandria, LA
Vice President: Richard Bridges, MD, Amite, LA
Secretary: Mary Coleman, MD, New Orleans, LA
Treasurer: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Immediate Past-President: Christopher Foret, MD, Franklinton, LA
Speaker: Derek Anderson, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
Vice-Speaker/GA: Lisa Casey, MD, New Orleans, LA
AAFP Delegate: James Campbell, MD, Kenner, LA
AAFP Delegate: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate: Wayne Gravois, MD, Zachary, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate: James Taylor, Jr., MD, Zachary, LA
Resident Representative:
Lindsey Liles, MD, Kenner, LA
Resident Alternate: Joseph Garcia, MD, Alexandria, LA
Student Representative: Hannah Lo, New Orleans, LA
Student Alternate: Jimmy Fabiszak, New Orleans, LA
District1 Director Brandon Page, MD, New Orleans, LA
District 1 Alternate Ronnie Slipman, MD, New Orleans, LA
District 2 Director Luis Arencibia, MD, Mandeville, LA
District 2 Alternate Ralph Cortes-Moran, MD, Metairie, LA
District 3A Director Jack Heidenreich, MD, Raceland, LA
District 3A Alternate Camille Pitre, MD, Larose, LA 
District 3B Director Amanda Phillips-Savoy, MD, Lafayette, LA
District 3B Alternate Zeb Stearns, MD, Eunice, LA
District 4 Director Ricky Jones, MD, Shreveport, LA
District 4 Alternate Joseph Nida, MD, Minden, LA
District 5 Director James Smith, MD, Bastrop, LA
District 5 Alternate Euil Luther, MD, Monroe, LA
District 6A Director Jason Schrock, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
District 6A Alternate Carol Smothers-Swift, MD, New Roads, LA
District 6B Director Brian Callihan, MD, Hammond, LA
District 6B Alternate Keisha Harvey, MD, Bogalusa, LA
District 7 Director Jason Fuqua, MD, Sulphur, LA
District 7 Alternate Andrew Davies, MD, Lake Charles, LA 
District 8 Director Brian Picou, Jr., MD, Natchitoches, LA
District 8 Alternate Micah Pippin, MD, Alexandria, LA
Director at Large Jody George, MD, Lake Charles, LA
Alt. Director at Large Dianna Phan, MD, New Orleans, LA
Reports were given by each of the committee chairs on the work that had been done over the past year. After completing our business by early afternoon, Dr. Anderson called for an adjournment. We hope everyone enjoyed their time in New Orleans. We look forward to seeing you all next year in Destin.
The success of the 2019 General Assembly is due in part to the support and generosity of our sponsors and exhibitors.

Member Login