General Assembly logo73rd General Assembly – July 31, 2020 - Destin, FL
Report by: Derek Anderson, MD, Speaker, LAFP General Assembly
Lisa Casey, MD, Vice-Speaker, LAFP General Assembly  
The 73rd annual General Assembly convened on July 31st in Destin, FL at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort Baytowne Conference Center. This years meeting was offered to members in an in-person and virtual format due to COVID-19.  Speaker Derek Anderson and Vice Speaker Lisa Casey presided as LAFP members and guests discussed issues and elected officers for the upcoming year.

The meeting provided members with addresses from Deirdre Barfield, MD, MBA, Senior Medical Director for Blue Cross Blue Shield of LA and Sterling N. Ransone, Jr., MD, FAAFP, AAFP Board Director. Dr. Ransone brought us greetings and information from the national Academy and also shared the work of the AAFP over the past year.
During the meeting, after the annual reading of the necrology report honoring our members who have left us in the past year, recognized the past presidents in attendance, recognized members receiving anniversary awards and approved bylaws changes that were submitted. One resolution was submitted to the Assembly titled:
  • Resolution 1: CME to Train Family Physicians as Health Care Leaders
The resolution was submitted Dr. Chris Van Hise and presented to the members for consideration. 
RESOLVED, that the LAFP, through its delegates and representatives, will advocate at the AAFP Congress of Delegates (COD) and all other AAFP meetings for the AAFP to provide additional training in the areas of Health Care Advocacy, Health Care Policy, Health Care Finance, Health Care Delivery, and Health Care Systems in the form of CME lectures, a CME category, and CME-credited self-study material, and be it further
RESOLVED, that the LAFP, through its delegates and representatives, will advocate at the AAFP Congress of Delegates (COD) and all other AAFP meetings that the AAFP include information on Board Reports F (3) and G (4), and the AAFP Health Care Policy Primer (2) in CME lectures as well as at workshops and lectures at the annual National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Students.
The resolution was adopted during the meeting.
The 2020-2021 LAFP Board of Directors  was elected and are as follows:
President: Kenneth Brown, MD, Alexandria, LA
President-Elect: Brian Harrell, MD, Lake Charles, LA
Vice President: Richard Bridges, MD, Amite, LA
Secretary: Teri O'Neal, MD, Monroe, LA
Treasurer: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Immediate Past-President: M. Tahir Qayyum, MD, Bastrop, LA
Speaker: Derek Anderson, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
Vice-Speaker/GA: Lisa Casey, MD, New Orleans, LA
AAFP Delegate: James Campbell, MD, Kenner, LA
AAFP Delegate: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate: Wayne Gravois, MD, Zachary, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate: James Taylor, MD, Zachary, LA
Resident Representative:
Lindsey Liles, MD, Kenner, LA
Resident Alternate: Stephen Finney, MD, Alexandria, LA
Student Representative: Alarica Dietzen, New Orleans, LA
Student Alternate: Danielle Purtell, New Orleans, LA
District1 Director Brandon Page, MD, New Orleans, LA
District 1 Alternate Ronnie Slipman, MD, New Orleans, LA
District 2 Director Luis Arencibia, MD, Mandeville, LA
District 2 Alternate Ralph Cortes-Moran, MD, Metairie, LA
District 3A Director Jack Heidenreich, MD, Raceland, LA
District 3A Alternate Camille Pitre, MD, Larose, LA 
District 3B Director Amanda Phillips-Savoy, MD, Lafayette, LA
District 3B Alternate Zeb Stearns, MD, Eunice, LA
District 4 Director Ricky Jones, MD, Shreveport, LA
District 4 Alternate Joseph Nida, MD, Minden, LA
District 5 Director James Smith, MD, Bastrop, LA
District 5 Alternate Euil Luther, MD, Monroe, LA
District 6A Director Jason Schrock, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
District 6A Alternate Carol Smothers-Swift, MD, New Roads, LA
District 6B Director Brian Callihan, MD, Hammond, LA
District 6B Alternate Keisha Harvey, MD, Bogalusa, LA
District 7 Director Jason Fuqua, MD, Sulphur, LA
District 7 Alternate Danette Null, MD, Lake Charles, LA 
District 8 Director Brian Picou, Jr., MD, Natchitoches, LA
District 8 Alternate Micah Pippin, MD, Alexandria, LA
Director at Large Jody George, MD, Lake Charles, LA
Alt. Director at Large Dianna Phan, MD, New Orleans, LA
Reports were given by each of the committee chairs on the work that had been done over the past year. After completing our business by early afternoon, Dr. Anderson called for an adjournment. We hope everyone enjoyed their time in Destin. We look forward to seeing you all next year in New Orleans.

The success of the 2020 General Assembly is due in part to the support and generosity of our sponsors and exhibitors.

Member Login