• 1

Program Director: Dannette Null, MD
Email Address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Program Coordinator: Sally Freemman
Email Address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

1525 Oak Park Blvd.
Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone Number: (337) 494-2023
Fax Number: (337) 430-6966


The Memorial/LSUHSC Family Medicine Residency Program combines an excellent learning environment, an outstanding compensation package, and quality of life. We believe our program, which combines the academic resources of LSUHSC New Orleans with the clinical and financial resources of southwest Louisiana's largest community-owned, non-profit healthcare system, Lake Charles Memorial, will expose you to a variety of patient health needs. Highlights of our residency program include:

  • Unopposed training in Family Medicine with no competing residencies
  • Hands-on procedure training
  • Faculty and consultants with private practice experience
  • Preparation for practice in an ever-changing healthcare environment and an electronic medical record system
  • Excellent salary and benefits packages
  • A curriculum that balances education, patient care, and lifestyle
  • A 20,000 sq. ft. family practice center with individual workstations for each resident complete with personal laptop

Lake Charles Memorial Hospital/Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Family Medicine Residency Program (Memorial/LSUHSC FMRP) began in January 1995. In January 1996, our program was granted provisional accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education and in January 2002 our program was awarded full accreditation and has maintained full accreditation with each site visit.

The mission of the Memorial/LSUHSC FMRP is to supply Southwest Louisiana with caring, well-trained family medicine physicians who provide healing, comprehensive care to the entire family.

  • Our residents will provide patient care which is continuous, comprehensive, and in the context of the entire family.
  • Our residents will be prepared to practice medicine in a full range of practice settings and in a continuously evolving professional environment.
  • Our graduates will demonstrate competence and compassion in providing the highest quality and comprehensive care to all members of the family.
  • Our graduates will display leadership skills and good citizenship in the medical society and communities in which they practice their specialty of Family Medicine.

Residents entering into our Family Medicine Residency Program receive three years of comprehensive study in all major areas of medicine: internal medicine and its subspecialties, cardiology, pediatrics, surgery and its subspecialties, obstetrics and gynecology, emergency medicine, sports medicine and community medicine. The residents train under the supervision of Family Medicine Physician faculty members and Subspecialty Physicians.

Training is provided within our sponsoring institution, Lake Charles Memorial Health System, and outpatient clinics. Our residents serve as one of the hospital service or “hospitalist” teams that admits unassigned and uninsured patients via the emergency department. Our residents understand the importance and impact our residency training program has on the community it serves, in particular at risk and under-served populations.

The contributions our residents and graduates make to Lake Charles, Southwest Louisiana, the State of Louisiana and nationally are significant. We are very proud of the 141 graduates who understand and recognize the pivotal role family physicians have in directing family health care. From the heel of the boot in Lake Charles to Acadiana to Cutoff in the bayous of the Mississippi Delta to the north pinewood forests of Minden and all parts in between many of our residents continue to serve Louisiana in such areas as Lake Charles, Moss Bluff, Westlake, Sulphur, Jennings, Kinder, DeRidder, Opelousas, Abbeville, Rayville, Cutoff, Crowley, New Iberia, Minden, Monroe, Mandeville, Walker, New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Youngsville, Thibodaux and New Iberia.

Member Login